Evening Seminars

Our Evening Seminars are free and open to the public. They are held at a variety of locations in the Greater Boston area.

Title When Lecturer(s) Venue Room
To Spelunk or Not to Spelunk: Does Immersive Virtual Reality Help Thursday, December 1, 2005 - 7:00pm David Laidlaw, director, Visualization Research Lab, Brown University MIT Building E51 (Tang Center) E51-345
Introduction to Virtual Private Networks (VPNs) Thursday, November 17, 2005 - 7:00pm Edward Leonard, IBM IBM Innovation Center, Waltham, MA
What2what (was end2end): the future of the Internet Thursday, October 20, 2005 - 7:00pm Scott Bradner, Harvard University MIT Building E51 (Tang Center) E51-325
Stream Processing Engines -- What Makes Them Tick Thursday, September 22, 2005 - 7:00pm Mike Stonebraker, MIT CSAIL & StreamBase Systems, Inc. MIT Building 10 (Maclaurin Buildings) 10-250
Introduction to Grid Computing Thursday, June 16, 2005 - 7:00pm Barry Nusbaum of IBM IBM Innovation Center, Waltham, MA
Haystack: Putting Users Back in Control of their Information Organization Thursday, May 19, 2005 - 7:00pm David Karger, MIT CSAIL MIT Building 2 2-105
Helping People Find Information Better Thursday, April 28, 2005 - 7:00pm Jaime Teevan, MIT CSAIL MIT Building 56 (Whitaker Building) 56-114
A meta-language for system architecting: A case study based on NASA's Apollo Program Thursday, March 17, 2005 - 7:00pm Benjamin Koo and Jay Conne MIT Building E51 (Tang Center) E51-345
New Standards for Elections: A forum on technical and nontechnical requirements for voting systems Monday, February 21, 2005 - 7:00pm Host: Dr. Rebecca Mercuri, Radcliffe Institute Fellow and member of the P1583 committee Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University (Cronkhite Center) Living room
Internet Vulnerabilities and Server Security Thursday, January 27, 2005 - 7:00pm Patrick Hynds and Duane Laflotte, CriticalSites MIT Building E51 (Tang Center) E51-315
Syndicate content